TRUTH THURSDAYS 5: WHAT’S IN YOUR HAND?

I’m reminded of the story of Moses, who God called to set the his people, the Israelites, free.  We have 2 whole chapters in Exodus of Moses basically hemming and hawing and trying to get out of doing what God had instructed him to do.  He was scared, insecure, and completely lacking in any confidence – in himself and more importantly, in God.

God countered every excuse Moses gave him:

“Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?”

“I will be with you. And this will be the sign to you that it is I who have sent you: When you have brought the people out of Egypt, you will worship God on this mountain.”

 

“Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?”

“I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I am has sent me to you.’”

 

“What if they do not believe me or listen to me and say, ‘The Lord did not appear to you’?”

“If they do not believe you or pay attention to the first sign [staff becoming a snake], they may believe the second [hand becoming leprous]. But if they do not believe these two signs or listen to you, take some water from the Nile and pour it on the dry ground. The water you take from the river will become blood on the ground.”

 

“I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”

“Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute?Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

 

“Pardon your servant, Lord. Please send someone else.”

“What about your brother, Aaron the Levite? I know he can speak well. He is already on his way to meet you, and he will be glad to see you. You shall speak to him and put words in his mouth; I will help both of you speak and will teach you what to do.”

 

Aren’t we just like Moses sometimes?  So unwilling to do what God has commanded, full of disbelief that we are even capable of doing the things He wants us to do.  Doesn’t it ever occur to us that if God asks us to do something He will most certainly enable us to carry out his commands?

God calls us to bless and give and love extravagantly beyond our resources.  He calls us to a place of utter reliance on Him.  We don’t need anything in our hands to be able to do God’s work.  in fact when Jesus sent out the disciples he told them to “take nothing for the journey”.  To quote Francis Chan’s Crazy Love –

“Jesus was forcing His disciples to trust Him.  God would have to come through for them because they had nothing else to fall back on.  This place of trust isn’t a comfortable place to be; in fact, it flies in the face of everything we’ve been taught about proper planning.  We like finding refuge in what we already have rather than in what we hope God will provide.  But when Christ says to count the cost of following Him, it means we must surrender everything.  It means being willing to go without an extra tunic or a place to sleep at night, and sometimes without knowing where we are going.”

What’s in my hand?  Does it matter?  I’m not looking anymore.  There may be something.  There may be nothing.  But regardless, that’s more than enough for my God.

confettihands

One thought on “TRUTH THURSDAYS 5: WHAT’S IN YOUR HAND?

  1. Pingback: Truth Thursday Roundup 05: What’s In Your Hand? | Truth Thursdays

Leave a Reply

